Amat Victoria Curam #1

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Rebel Running
Tags: , , ,

Victory Loves Preparation

“Victory loves careful preparation” is what it should say if I want to be a real tight-ass about the translation from the original Latin phrase. But art has its freedom, and if a bad ass action flick about an assassin starring Jason Statham doesn’t have the freedom to mildly alter a famous Latin phrase in order to fit it on a gun that belongs to the main character’s mentor , then we might as well have no freedoms. On a side note the main character (Statham), actually uses the gun to kill his mentor…talk about irony.

Careful Preparation. first step: PLAN. second step: FOLLOW THROUGH

Failing to plan is planning to fail. Not exactly one of my favorite quotes of all time, or the deepest, but it’s in the core of truth’s about life. There is nothing important you can expect to accomplish without finding out what it’s going to take to get there.

I just decided on my fall schedule of races which will include:

— with the culmination of my fall season coming with the Tri-State Tough Mudder and the Philadelphia Marathon one week apart from each other. Two completely different races with two completely different goals attached to each. I want to finish Tough Mudder to the best of my ability (I think 83% of people finished last year) and get a BQ (Boston Marathon qualifying time) in my first ever marathon.

Lofty goals, and I’m looking forward to a pretty achy 7-8 day span, but I’m confident my training will carry me through. I’m currently in my base building phase of my running training and supporting that with tensile strength training targeting specific muscle groups. During the August and September months I’ll be into my interval training and cross-functional total body workouts. Afterwards I’ll switch over to speedwork and short-rep/higher weight weight lifting to supplement my speedwork.

Keys to a good plan:

  • Be realistic. If you’re training for a marathon, there are some general training plans out on the web that claim to get you your best time. And maybe they will. And maybe they also require 5-6 days of training, when you can only find 3-4 days a week to get a run in. Your goal should reflect the time and effort you are willing to put towards that goal.
  • Consider the pitfalls. Injuries are generally the number 1 hole in any training plan because people figure “why would I get injured?” Well that’s exactly what you should consider when developing a training plan. Rest never killed anybody, and it’s prevented a lot of overuse injuries. It’s best to include injury prevention as a part of the plan versus scrambling to achieve your goal when recovering from an injury.
  • Allow for a snowball effect. For any long-term plan you have to allow yourself to gain momentum. Don’t dive right in to a heavy training plan if it’s not something you’re accustomed to. Not only is that the direct path to injury, but for a lot of us it makes us feel like we’ve accomplished A TON, which leaves us satisfied and sometimes complacent. Any good program looking to achieve a goal at the end has a subset of goals to achieve all along.
  • Avoid apathy. Doing the same thing over and over will at one point or another leave you bored. Running (from what I hear) takes the cake on this rule. Be sure to change up your workouts so that you’re not doing the same thing week in and week out. This can also trigger complacency and draw away from your motivation

Stay tuned for the FOLLOW THROUGH.

To the Prepared Rebel in you,

Rebel Dels

P.S. For those of you who may be upset for me giving out a detail of The Mechanic, get over it. Happens in the first 15 minutes and let’s be honest, if you were expecting a plot deeper than that I saved you some time.

Comments
  1. Liz says:

    Dude, I didn’t even know it was the mechanic. Jason Statham plays assassins. You could have been talking about like seventeen other movies.

Leave a Reply

