You’re weird…

Posted: May 2, 2012 in Rebel Running, Training
Tags: , , ,

Me: Hey, are you going to be home in about two hours?
Roommate: Yeah I should be. Why, what’s up?
Me: Oh nothing, I’m just going for a run.
Roommate: You’re running for TWO HOURS?!?!
Me: Well, yeah. See it’s my long–
Roommate: You’re weird!
Me: Well alright then, guess you’re not interested. See you in a bit..

So Sunday I went for my last long run before Broad Street, a “modest” 13 miler. (I only say modest because I saw someone write about completing a 17 miler in preparation for the race) I felt exactly as I should have and listening to REBELrunning Survival v.HipHop kept my mind occupied.

About 11 miles in, on my way back from an ‘out-n-back’ down the Schuylkill River Trail, I was listening debating in my head whether or not I should keep listening to Ghostface Killah – All That I Got Is You featuring Mary J. Blige since it isn’t really a song that would amp me up to keep up my pace this deep into the run.  Just then, about 50 meters in front of me, a woman riding her bike towards me clipped the rear tire of the bike in front of her and I swear I saw her helmet smash against the ground in slow motion.

First Aid/CPR/AED Certified. Click to get yours

So naturally I picked up the pace, and I noticed she wasn’t moving at all so I ripped out my headphones and knelt by her side. I started asking her questions, seeing what she could move without moving her — the standard stuff. Turns out that her primary language is Spanish, and though I’m not fluent, speaking the language all of a sudden became natural. Soon I realized that yeah, it was a lot of pain she was feeling, but also a ton of embarrassment, which kept her from speaking to me much. As it turns out the bicyclist’s tire that she clipped was someone who I could only imagine she was romantically involved with. I learned that they were both doctors and she soon stood up under her own power and only wanted to go home. I soon grabbed my phone and went on my merry way… which wasn’t so merry because in that time the lactic acid began to settle.

It’s funny, you’ll never know when your knowledge will just kick in.

Running: Never a dull moment Plenty of dull moments, but every now and again you’ll get your rush.

–Rebel Dels

Leave a Reply

