Twas the Night Before Broad Street…

Posted: May 5, 2012 in Races
Tags: , , ,

Twas the night before broad street, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.
The race gear was hung by the closet with care,
In hopes a personal best is how you would fare…
The night before any important race seems to follow a ritual for me:

  1. Laugh A LOT
  2. Pretend I’m not nervous
  3. Eat a light protein meal
  4. Drink water
  5. Get my gear ready
  6. Pretend I’m not nervous
  7. Try on gear, then hang gear up
  8. Drink water
  9. Watch an inspirational sports movie/clip/speech
  10. Go pee
  11. Lay down
  12. Admit I’m nervous
  13. Wonder how the world will end if I don’t accomplish my goal
  14. Convince myself I will accomplish my goal
  15. Wonder if I drank enough water
  16. Tell myself I need to fall asleep because I’m missing key sleeping hours
  17. Pretend I’m not nervous

If 8:30 AM is a little bit too much for you to get to Center City Philadelphia after Cinco de Mayo, go here, register real quick, and follow along to see if I run fast!

Leave a Reply

