The “Fitty-Fi” Workout

Posted: May 12, 2012 in Strength Training, Training

I have a fitness problem. I was doing squats in the shower this morning. You know, just perfecting my form — standard stuff not weird at all…

I just got rid of my gym membership in favor of doing “prison workouts” — workouts I can do in the comfort of my own home. It made sense for me because a) I only join gyms in the winter for the use of the treadmill (I don’t have much cold weather running gear) and b)I’m mostly concerned with my core and doing body-weight exercises.

So I came across this workout consisting of only squats and pushups and I thought “This is the type of workout a lot of people can and should do.”

Start with one body-weight squat and ten pushups. Rest 30 seconds, then do 2 squats and 9 pushups. Work your way up to 10 squats and 1 pushup.

See? Simple.. or easy enough to describe at least.  You end up doing 55 of each exercise (hence fitty-fi) and it is a ten minute workout that will definitely get your core charged. If maxing at 10 seems daunting, feel free to start at 9,8,7,6, or 5. See how that works?

If you’re unsure of how to properly do a squat or pushup, don’t hesitate to comment or e-mail me cdeleon@rcptfit.com

C’mon,  be a rebel…

-Dels

Comments
  1. This is a fantastic idea. I recently moved from an apartment that was near the Seminary gym to an apartment that’s father away, so I need some simple exercises. I think I’m going to try it. Actually, to be honest, I really don’t know how to do a proper squat. How do you do it?

    • rebelrunner says:

      Definitely try it. It’s convenient and quick! So a lot of trainers say to think of it like sitting in a chair, which on the surface is right because you end up looking like you’re sitting in a chair… but you don’t just plop down into a squat.

      Start off with your feet shoulder width apart. Pick something straight ahead to stare at, and remember that you want all of your weight will always be in your heels. You should also have your hands at your sides.

      As you lower your body push your hips back — this is where it differs from how people normally sit, it should feel slightly unusual. You want to be sure your knees are behind your toes throughout the entire motion for these body-weight squats. Continue to stare at the same point to help ensure you keep your head up and keep your chest facing forward, not down towards the ground – all while keeping your back straight. You should raise your arms to shoulder level (parallel to the flower) to help counterbalance as your quads become parallel to the floor. Slowly raise back up lowering your arms and keeping your eyes locked on the same spot with your back straight and chest forward.

      Might sound more confusing than it is, just remember:
      -Weight in the heels
      -Eyes and chest forward
      -Hips back, back straight
      -Parallel to the ground is the end

      You can check out this vid that does a pretty good job of explaining: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Up_48p-BMug

  2. btw, the above comment was from me. I had to do a group school project using WordPress, so that’s why it says Trenton Troubled Teens.

Leave a Reply

