Somebody That I Used to Race

Posted: May 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Some might say these are better lyrics than those of “Somebody I Used to Know”

Now and then I think of when we ran together
Like when you said you felt so tired you could die
Guess I thought your pace was right for me
But felt exhausted in your company
That lactic acid in my hamstrings I remember

You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness
Like running awfully until the end, always the end
So when you said this pace did not make sense
I said go and try a new distance
I’ll admit I couldn’t wait ’til it was over

But you didn’t have to cut me off
Running to the water and you really left me with nothing?!
And I didn’t even need my gloves
Tried to hold them in my hands, just too tough
Did you really have to blow me out?
Set yourself a fast record then saved your bib-number
Guess I need someone to chase
Now you’re just somebody that I used to race

Now you’re just somebody that I used to race
Now you’re just somebody that I used to race

 

To the dork lyricist in you,

Dels

 

Leave a Reply

