XC, Literally (the latter half)

Posted: May 23, 2012 in Rebel Running
Tags: , , ,

So if you didn’t catch a quick summary of the first quick summary of my week-long road trip across the states, check it out here.

So I’m picking up where I left off. It’s about 8:30 AM in Nashville, TN on Easter Sunday and I just finished my morning run — cock of the walk, still not over it.. Get back to the RV in the RV park and the RVmates are still up from the night before in Nashville. Naturally their nap before brunch lasted a little longer than expected so we skipped brunch and went straight to Memphis, TN… more specifically GRACELAND!

Eccentric to say the least..

A hallway filled with plaques and achievements in his trophy BUILDING.

Carpet.. on the walls.. enough said.

Graceland was so much fun. The King truly lived as such. A huge estate, a myriad of the classiest cars… oh yeah and his own PRIVATE JET. “Taking Care of Business” was his motto, and he sure enough did.

After grabbing some Tennessee BBQ we began our trek to Austin, TX. After another long night of driving we made it to our RV camp at around noon. To get my run in before the day & night festivities I had to run at the hottest point in the day… in Texas … heat I’m not accustomed to. Can you say BAD IDEA? Yeah well I couldn’t even say that after my run. Blazing heat and a piss poor attempt a tempo run. Oh well, at least I got to see these:

Alpacas? Llamas? I don’t know…

The Longhorn State… “ohhh I get it now!”

Somehow none of us managed to take pictures of our night in Austin even though the unanimous vote was: DOPE CITY, we all want to visit again – maybe Austin City Limits next year? Which is apparently abbreviated to ACL down there.

From Austin we trekked down across I-10 before we decided to call it a night in Fort Stockton, TX. Nothing like crashing for a night in a Wal-Mart parking lot like true RVers, though I doubt true RVers would use the phrase ‘true RVers’.
We saddled up early morning to head into New Mexico, deciding on a whim that Gila National Forest should be our stopping point. We wanted to make it a short stop, but wit these sights, no way.

Little did I know that about a week earlier Ultra running legend Micah True had been found dead in the same wilderness after setting out on a 12 mile run. Who he was, and is, to the running community cannot be measured and he is sorely missed by all. He was a true rebel runner –  a nature boy at heart that seriously did not give a f–k and just ran. If you want to learn more about him you should click the link above or if you have more time read the book Born to Run if you haven’t already.

After Gila it was one more long haul to the Grand Canyon. We got there late at night (saw my first and only moose on the side of the road while driving) and headed to the park in the morning. I honestly can’t put into words how I felt when I saw the canyon. I would say breathtaking, but it’s more like breath-robbing-you-at-gunpoint. AMAZING.


My favorite spot

We continued to our journey to our final destination that night and the next morning: LAX. It was there where I said my goodbyes to the Coachella party-goers and hopped on a plane to San Francisco, CA to spend some with a great friend who I hadn’t seen in a while.

So I was running in Golden Gate Park when another runner headed towards me calmly mentioned “hey there’s a coyote ahead.” The way he said it I wasn’t sure if that was slang for something. It was not slang. There was a coyote.

That day I completed my seventh run in seven days in seven states. I spent the weekend enjoying the sites and the beers of the Bay Area’s best, before I caught a flight back home.

The journey: an experience to say the least. I highly recommend doing it if you have the time or can make the time. Eleven days I’ll never regret.

To the wanderlust in you,

Dels

Leave a Reply

