RebelRunning: Beer of the Week

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Beer of the Week
Tags: , ,

So I went for a run with a friend because he’s looking to get back into shape. It was the first time we’d run together in a few years, and since I’m more accustomed to distance runs, our 4.4mi run might have affected his cardiovascular system a little more than mine. After we ran we did some standard static stretches, and headed back home. Once he got home he texted me…

20120625-005313.jpg

I’m a huge beer supporter. The government warns that “women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects” and “consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs the ability to drive a car…and may cause health problems.” both of which are obviously true without a doubt, so there is no argument there. But if you’re not driving and you’re not pregnant, can post-run beers really hurt you? Dehydration, calories, and your “drunkenness” should be your concern.

Most things in moderation are good for you, and I believe this is beer is one of those things. I generally like to have three cups of water and replenish my electrolytes before I head to the good stuff. After races I make sure to get an orange or banana in as well, in addition to some food (with lean protein) to enjoy with my beer.

So this has all really sparked the inaugural weekly ‘Beer of the Week’. Every week I’ll report a beer I find particularly good after a run, or just a beer I find particularly delicious, or just a beer from a 6-pack I decided to try out. Who knows, maybe you’ll like it too.
20120625-005340.jpg

I start this segment off with a beer from one of America’s famed brewers, Samuel Adams. I generally am a huge fan of Sam seasonal beers. They go with an American Wheat as their summer treat. The tangy and citrusy taste go with the summer sensation. It is not very heavy, definitely quenches thirst, and would go great with light, low protein seafood/chicken meals.

Alcohol by Vol/Wt: 5.3%ABV – 4.1%ABW
Calories/12 oz.: 166

Would I drink it after a run? Yeah I’ll drink this one after a race up to a marathon. You could even slip a an orange into your glass, if that’s you’re style, to get even more Vitamin C in you.

Would I drink it during a beer mile?Because of its tang and medium body I’d opt for something else, but it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world.

Would I drink it without any relation to running? It’s a good beer. I’m not big on wheats to begin with, so I probably won’t grab this one for the remainder of the summer, but it’s definitely a solid BBQ choice or would complement lobster or ‘All-U-Can-Eat’ crabs well.

To the beer runner in you,
Dels

Comments
  1. maureentmcc says:

    Love this. And I totally agree with you about the wheat beer thing. Hops 4-life!

Leave a Reply

