Verified Rebel: Nick Symmonds

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Motivation, Rebel Running
Tags: , , , , ,

As a competitor I never really paid much attention to those I would be racing against. I guess I looked at it like “I’m going to run MY race, and it doesn’t much matter what style race someone else runs.” (Jeez, what an ego on this guy) But I honestly ran my races one way, and if it worked, it worked. After competition was over I learned that some people have been doing some really cool s–t with running.

A rebel runner forges their own road. They run for a cause bigger than their own. They might go against conventional wisdom or they might just make a habit of bending the rules. Basically a runner that is just plain AWESOME.

Today’s verified Rebel Runner is none other than Nicholas Symmonds.

Beast Mode with 300 left

CREDENTIALS:

  • Raising awareness on overly stringent sponsorship rules keeping professional track athletes’ average salary at $17,000
  • Holds US record in the beer mile (5:31 are you kidding me?!)
  • He just qualified for the 2012 London Olympics
  • National 800m champion 5 years in a row.
  • Attended a Division III college — Willamette University
  • Just took Paris Hilton out on a date

USATF tested, Rebel Runner approved. This guy is pretty much a boss right now and I’m pretty sure I have a man-crush. Best of luck to this guy and his hopes for Olympic hardware.

To the rebel in you,
Dels

Leave a Reply

