RebelRunning Beer of the Week: Victory Summer Love Ale

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Beer of the Week
Tags: , ,

I’m a huge beer supporter. The government warns that “women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects” and “consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs the ability to drive a car…and may cause health problems.” both of which are obviously true without a doubt, so there is no argument there. But if you’re not driving and you’re not pregnant, can post-run beers really hurt you? Dehydration, calories, and your “drunkenness” should be your concern.

Most things in moderation are good for you, and I believe beer is one of those things. I generally like to have three cups of water and replenish my electrolytes while I head to the good stuff. After races I make sure to get an orange or banana in as well, in addition to some food (with lean protein) to enjoy with my beer.

Every week I’ll report a beer I find particularly good after a run, or just a beer I find particularly delicious, or just a beer from a 6-pack I decided to try out. Who knows, maybe you’ll like it too.

Pale Malts and German Hops

This week’s beer belongs to a brewer close to Philly hearts, Victory Brewing Company. Sticking to my seasonal stretch I decided to grab a Summer Love Ale whose label with has a lot of Philly and summer decor, and a nice story on the back that combines two of Philly’s loves: beer and baseball. It’s refreshing, it’s got a medium body, and a golden yellow color — unfortunately the same golden yellow as the urine of a dehydrated person. Summer Ale well-balanced, holding back on the punch of its hops, but still represents that it is no pushover. You can taste the lemon on the onset and it has a clean smooth finish, with a mild lingering bitterness. What to eat with this? I’d venture on some crab legs, grilled salmon, or try with rice, broccoli, and scallops.

Alcohol by Vol: 5.2%ABV
Calories/12 oz.: Estimated 160-165

Would I drink it after a run? Any race to a 10k, I’d be taking this down afterwards. The lemon zing isn’t exactly the citrus I’m looking for after a race. After a run

Would I drink it during a beer mile? Not a tough chug, it’s pretty refreshing, but I can’t imagine this would feel good after lap two.

Would I drink it without any relation to running? Absolutely. It wouldn’t be my beer of choice but if it’s on tap and I’m switching things up I’d definitely grab one.

See what Victory says about summer…

To the beer runner in you,
Dels

Leave a Reply

